TGIF: The stars make no noise at Ireland’s Blackhead Lighthouse

Sunset at Blackhead

Sunset at Blackhead Lighthouse in Ireland.

Hailed as one of the great lighthouses in Ireland, Blackhead Lighthouse is perched high on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Belfast Lough.

I stayed at Blackhead Lighthouse during John Eagle’s Northern Ireland Lighthouse tour. Sitting on the porch one moonlit night, my hearted pulsed with the beam of the lighthouse as it swirled quietly in the darkness.

Warning off perils ahead and nearby, Blackhead Lighthouse faithfully stands guard. While the lighthouse has saved countless lives, it stood watch as the Titanic tragically passed by on its final journey.

My stay at Blackhead Lighthouse was the highlight of the tour. As I stepped into my bedroom, I was delighted to see a self portrait of one of my favorite artists,  Albrecht Durer, hanging on the wall. My room had a fire place and a magnificent view of the ocean.

Almost every room at Blackhead had a fire place including the restroom. Today we consider a fireplace in every room a luxury but in times past it was a necessity as it was the only source of heat.

Sunset at Blackhead

Sunrise at Blackhead Lighthouse.

We stayed at Blackhead three days and two nights. I made the most of my stay. I witnessed a blazing sunrise, glorious sunset and quiet moonlight while sitting on the porch of Blackhead Lighthouse.

Yes, the stars make no noise as the Irish quote goes. Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

http://www.elainemarieartist.com

http://www.greatlighthouses.com

Leave a Reply

