Turning Despair into Beauty

The painting Girl in the widow by Edward Munch

The Girl by Window by Edward Munch maybe longing for better days.

Artists are known for turning moments of despair into beautiful paintings. Edward Munch according to Rick Steves, painted his most famous paintings when he was suffering from depression. Once his depression ended so did his magnificent paintings.

Vincent van Gogh painted La Berceuse five times.

Vincent van Gogh painted La Berceuse five times.

Vincent van Gogh suffered mental anguish throughout his life. He finally ended his life in suicide. Yet, Van Gogh was a prolific painter. Monet continued to paint wonderful water lilies while losing his eyesight. Henri Toulouse-Lautrec’s physical maladies never impeded his art.

The Moulin Rouge by Lautrec.

The Moulin Rouge by Henri Toulouse-Lautrec. The cabaret was the source of much of his inspiration and where he found acceptance.

I thought of this paradox while training my grandcan obedience in the midst of disobedience. I also recalled how I turned to painting after the death of my beloved father. I painted a picture of a chair he often sat in when eating dinner at my home.

I painted the painting bonds while grieving the death of my father.

I did the painting, Bonds, while grieving the death of my father.

Dinner times were special for my family. They were sideshows where my mom played the “straight guy” as the pun of my dad’s hilarious jokes.

http://www.elainemarieartist

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/elaine-austin.html?tab=artwork

http://m.artic.edu/

Leave a Reply

