TGIF: Save big at an iconic location in Ireland

Trinity College

Stay at Ireland’s most prestigious college.

The Trinity College in Dublin offers affordable and modest rooms in a popular location. Shopping, restaurants and bus stops are nearby. Trinity College is home to the Book of Kells the crown jewel of Ireland.

The book of kells

The Book of Kells is a medieval manuscript of the bible.

The campus green space and historic buildings offer a pleasant setting. The single room I stayed in was off the beaten path and quite a distance away from the Accommodations Office. The floor I stayed on had no elevator and was very awkward to find. Thankfully a staff member was close by to assist me with my luggage and finding my room. My single room was sparse but neat and clean with comfortable bedding. There was a little noise in the afternoon in the dorm but it was quiet during the night. The room had wifi but no tv. A shared bathroom and shower were in the hallway. There was a sink in the room for freshing up. It was an ideal overnight stay after a nine day road trip around Ireland.

The Long Room

Visit The Long Room after viewing the Book of Kells.

I enjoyed easy access to the Book of Kells, airport express bus and most of all the affordable price. I love history so the setting was an added plus. The staff is very pleasant, helpful and check in and check out were easy. If you check out early like I did some entry gates will be closed. I followed other people walking and found a gate with access. You may want to check with the Accommodations Office to find out which gates are open for early departure.

Visit http://www.elainemarieartist.com for more on my lighthouse trip to Ireland.

Leave a Reply

