So when did being nice get to be weird?

Christmas decorations in Chicago.

The Christmas season in Chicago.

I love Edward Hopper the artist. I rediscovered him at the Art Institute of Chicago. I visited the Art Institute a few years ago with my daughter.

The Art Institute of Chicago.

The Art Institute of Chicago.

She declared that his “Nighthawk” was her favorite painting in the collection. That’s a feat considering there are approximately 300,000 works of art.

Nighthawk by Edward Hopper.

Nighthawk by Edward Hopper exhibited in the Art Institute of Chicago.

Last summer I was mesmerized by the book “Edward Hopper” by Robert Hobbs. After reading the book from the library I went to Amazon and saw it priced for over $50. Not wanting to pay that, I added it to my art book wish list.

Edward Hopper by Robert Hobbs.

Great book by Robert Hobbs on Edward Hopper.

A couple of days ago, my daughter asked me what I wanted for Christmas. My mind came to a complete blank. Then I thought of my wish list.

I said ” Do you remember the painting “Nighthawk?” She paused and said, “no.” Well it was your favorite painting when we went to the museum in Chicago. Anyway, I want a book on Hopper for Christmas.

I looked at Amazon and it was a little under $50 now. I said, “You know Amazon doesn’t always have the best prices on books.” ” Really, because they initially started out by selling books,” she informed me.

I decided to “goggle” the Hooper book by name. The cheapest price under $20 was on Biblio and Barnes and Noble. My daughter decided to go with Barnes and Nobles. There was one snag. The book would be delivered after Christmas! I said, “That’s ok, Christmas is not my birthday.”

My to our surprise the book was delivered the next day. The Skymedia Online Bookseller employee said he used to live in the neighborhood and when saw the book he volunteered to deliver it. “That’s weird!” my daughter exclaimed. No that was nice!

A Christmas window in Chicago.

A Christmas window at Macy’s in Chicago.

Christmas is all about generosity-going above and beyond. That’s what God did for us by sending Jesus. And that’s what Christmas is all about. Thank God and thanks Skymedia!

Leave a Reply

