Preservation 50 Friday: Sunset at St. Simons Island

St Simons Island Lighthouse

St. Simons Island Lighthouse, GA.

Driving along the Georgia coast, I was headed to St. Simons Island. Having already visited Tybee Island Lighthouse, I was excited about finishing the day with one final lighthouse. Having received faulty information from my auto club, I stopped by the Golden Isles Welcome Center on I95.

I listened half heartily to the directions figuring I could easily find it based on a previous visit. After ending up at Jekyll Island and Sea Island, I laughed at my misadventure and poor memory.

Puzzled about want to do, I remembered Google maps on my phone. Keying in my destination, I was guided effortlessly to the lighthouse.

A view of the ocean

A walkway nearby offers a tranquil view of the Atlantic.

Although the lighthouse was closed, I was delighted to be able to walk the grounds. Stopping on the walkway near the ocean I gazed into the distance. I walked around the lighthouse trying to decide on the best vantage point for my painting.

Lighthouse signage

A marker with the history of the lighthouse.

A little tired after a long day, I welcomed the chance to sit down and draw the lighthouse. As the sun was setting, a blaze of light bounced off the lighthouse. It seemed to refresh the lighthouse and me. For now the lighthouse was receiving light instead of giving it.

elainemarieartist.com
GoldenIsles.com
Stsimonslighthouse.com

Leave a Reply

