A Night At the Museum

Museo Nacional del Prado.

Museo Nacional del Prado.

It is said if you really want to see the best of a city ask a local. I did one better, I asked a relative.

My daughter had been raving on about the palace in Madrid and asked if I wanted her to take me to see the palace and a few historical sights in Madrid. On my final day in Madrid, I decided to take her advice and I’m glad I did.

Palacio Real de Madrid.

Palacio Real de Madrid.

She took me to Palacio Real de Madrid —-The largest palace in western Europe. Walking toward the palace from Plaza de Orient was breathtaking.

Plaza de Orient Square.

Plaza de Orient Square.

Afterwards we to Santa Maria la Real de la Almidena.

Cupola

Cupola of the Santa Maria la Real de la Almedina.

It is the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Madrid.

A view of Madrid.

A beautiful view of Madrid at Parque de la Montana.

Next I got a bird’s eye view of eastern Madrid at Parque de la Montana.

At the Templo de Debod.

At the Templo de Debod.

Then we visited the Templo de Debod. In 1968 Spain received Templo de Debod in appreciation for helping to save Egyptian temples.

Back of Museo Nacional del Prado.

Back of Museo Nacional del Prado advertising an upcoming rotating exhibit by Ingres.

Later I visited the Museo Nacional del Prado at night because it is free from 6-8 pm. There is so much to see at the Prado. It has an out standing collection of European artists. The museum closes at 8 pm and because of the crowd I did not get inside until 6:15 pm.

I decided to focus on some of the most famous paintings and then narrowed my visit to my favorite artists. I’ve admired the art of El Greco since high school and draughtsmanship of Albretch Durer. I’d seen Durer’s prints and was delighted to now see his paintings. I also wanted to see paintings by Carravagiio but the gallery with Baroque art was closed.

I saw paintings by European masters: Rembrandt. Rubens, Velazquez, Titian and Goya. My favorite paintings were Velazquez’ masterpiece Las Meninas,La Trinidad by El Greco, Albrecht Durer’s self portrait and Adam and Eve.

With my map and art knowledge in hand, I was able to see all that I planned. A couple of times I asked for help to ensure that I did not miss anything. The museum is very large so if you want to take a leisurely stroll to see most of the collection, two hours won’t do. To see a few highlights with select artists, check out Prado’s Night at the Museum.

Leave a Reply

