The Coast is Clear

The New Canal Lighthouse.

The New Canal Lighthouse in New Orleans.
Copyrighted by Elaine Marie.

With each of my lighthouse painting, I capture a new mood and attitude. I’ve discovered that lighthouses have personalities. Some are friendly and engaging. Others are reserved and cautious.

The daymark does not guide me. It is the atmosphere, sunlight, clouds, and setting that directs me. I am driven by thought, intuition, passion and emotions. Each painting is a personal encounter.

Water is an integral part of my art as a reference, an influence or medium. My art is shaped by childhood trips to the beach and my passion for history. The rhythms of the ocean and rivers have captivated me since I was a child. I bring this fluidity into my art with my water colors. My paintings focus on conservation and preservation. There are sometimes hidden messages embedded in my art.

I love art because it transcends time and place. Art is a universal language that speaks to the heart and soul.

4 thoughts on “The Coast is Clear

Leave a Reply

