Cooling it in Florida

Morning view of the ocean

A morning view of the ocean from the balcony.

With cooler weather and lower prices, now is a great time to visit Florida.

I’m always looking for a great hotel and a great deal. I found both at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at Daytona Beach Shores.

It’s a wonderful oceanfront hotel that caters to guests. It is evident that the customer and the ocean were at the forefront when this hotel was designed.

When I checked in I was delighted to find an oceanfront lobby and breakfast area. All rooms are oceanfront as well. My room was equipped with a large flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge. The room had a table for dining and is appointed with plush pillows, bedding and granite counters in the bathroom. You can catch a view of the ocean from your balcony.

Dusk from the balcony.

An incredible view at dusk from the balcony.

There was a full moon the night I stayed so I watched the waves most of the evening. The room I stayed in was immaculate. The only disappointment was not finding a bible in the nightstand.

Although there was no food for the soul the hotel offers a free breakfast buffet.

If you want to burn off those calories there’s an oceanfront exercise room and pool. You can also walk off those pounds with a stroll on the ocean a few feet away.

Sunset at the pool.

The oceanfront pool at dawn.

My only regret was that I did not stay longer. My hotel room was priced at a little over $100 without taxes. I discovered that the hotel’s website offers the most competitive prices.

Arrive at 3 pm the check in time to get the most out of your stay.

Leave a Reply

