Fall in Love with New Smyrna Beach

 

A view of new Smyrna Beach

A view of New Smyrna Beach, Florida.

After discovering that New Smyrna Beach was a thriving art town, I packed my bags and sketchbook for an art trip. My first stop was the Visitor Center. I gathered information and maps for the day. The lady at the Welcome Center gave me a welcome gift and provided useful tips. She told me about Canal Street Historic District, Flagler Avenue and the Annual Jazz Festival (Sept 25-27). On the fourth Saturday every month, there’s an Art Walk on Flagler from 10am-5pm.

Canal Street Historic District.

There’s lots to do on Canal Street Historic District.

I made my way to Canal Street Historic District. I visited Arts on Douglas and saw am impressive array of art. The featured artist was Christine Peloquin. Her exhibit “Drawn to it” had stunning fabric and paper collages. The exhibit ended Sept. 26. In the gallery’s Alternate Space, Richard Heipt presented “Looking +Seeing: Anatomy Pairings 2005-2015.” This exhibit concludes Oct. 17.

Artist studios

Visit artists’ studios at The Hub.

At “The Hub on Canal Street” I browsed artist studios for affordable art and hand-made crafts. I saw paintings and Giclee prints for under $100.

The New Smyrna History Museum

Check out the New Smyrna Museum of History.

I stopped by and chatted with the folks at The New Smryna Museum of History nearby. They were promoting The Night at Museum on Oct. 2 called “Brews and the Blues” for $30 from 6-9 pm.

I relaxed a few minutes at the “Old Fort Park.” I read a plaque that explained the Greek origins of the city’s namesake. I did a few sketches in the area.

Flagler Beach sign.

A sign beckons visitors.

After visiting the Historic District, I drove across the causeway for Flagler Avenue. Touristy and funky, I strolled past restaurants and shops once there. I met an artist owner at Ring Gallery. The gallery store has his amazing photographs and novelty items for sale. At the Tada Gallery I picked up a nautical ring. The space is small but jammed packed with affordable jewelry and a few pieces of art.

A car on the beach.

I was expecting sea shells on the beach.

I ended the day by walking down Flagler Avenue to the beach. I was startled to see cars driving along shore. I reasoned that it was a beach for car enthusiasts because Daytona is only 15 miles away.

If you decide to spend the night there’s a Hampton Inn and the Inn on the Avenue Bed and Breakfast on Flagler Avenue.

For more information on New Smyrna Beach, visit wwww.nsbfla.com.

Leave a Reply

