Summer Art Trip

Threatening clouds at South Beach, Florida.

Threatening clouds at South Beach, Florida.

What a wonderful and eventful summer. What a wild finish! Florida was spared another hurricane with the disbanding of tropical storm Erika.

Hokusai's Great Wave.

The “Great Wave” by Hokusai.

I began my summer with a trip to Boston. I had an exhibit and got to see the “Great Wave” by Hokusai at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

Gay Head Cliffs at Martha's Vineyard.

Gay Head Cliffs at Martha’s Vineyard.

I took a side trip to Martha’s Vineyard, painted four lighthouses and stood spellbound at Gay Head Cliffs. I’m still trying to add the finishing touches on my painting of Gay Head Lighthouse.

Brooklyn Museum of Art.

Brooklyn Museum of Art.

I winded my way to the Big Apple for an exhibit in Brooklyn and then headed to the Sunshine State.

A view of the Gulf Coast at Biloxi, Mississippi.

A view of the Gulf Coast at Biloxi, Mississippi.

I took a road trip to Biloxi, Mississippi for a family reunion. I painted a lighthouse there then went to New Orleans. I painted the New Canal Lighthouse and Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse the next day.

On the return trip, we stopped at the Naval Air Station Pensacola. I painted the Pensacola Lighthouse while my family visited the Naval Aviation Museum.

I ended the summer with a trip to South Beach. I went on the Jewish Food Tour.

What’s next? Only God knows. I’ve learned to let Him guide my steps.

Check out my website http://www.elainemarieartist.com to see the lighthouses I painted.

4 thoughts on “Summer Art Trip

Leave a Reply

