A Scenic View of the Levees

New Orleans levees.

New Orlean’s levees.

Last weekend New Orleans paused to remember Hurricane Katrina. I thought about my recent visit to New Orleans as I listened to the program.

When I visited New Orleans last summer, I saw the levees first hand. I didn’t know what levees looked like until the guide at New Canal Lighthouse pointed them out. There I stood at New Canal gazing at the lake, then the levees. Hearing about levees is one thing seeing them is another. The levees surrounded parts of Lake Pontchartrain.

As I looked at the levees, I could see houses in the background. These levees that provide a protective barrier were blocking any view of the lake.

Leave a Reply

