Hidden Treasure: Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse

Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse

Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse copyrighted by Elaine Marie Austin.

I am not sure why I really connected with this abandoned lighthouse. It was sitting on the campus of the University of New Orleans without any fanfare or sign. Perhaps it’s quiet majesty; the compelling colors or it being abandoned that touched me. Anyway it was love at first sight.
I wasn’t allowed to walk on the grass or to get very close to where it was sitting. I hurriedly did a quick sketch, snapped a few photos and left. I was on my way to Pensacola.

I didn’t know anything about this lighthouse. I had come to New Orleans to visit the New Canal Lighthouse and was told about this lighthouse during my visit. What a hidden treasure!

I later called the New Canal Lighthouse to learn this one’s name and history. According to the Lighthouse  Friends website Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse or Milneburg Lighthouse was erected in 1855.

Leave a Reply

