A Day on Florida’s Historic Coast

 

Alcazar Hotel

The Historic Alcazar Hotel.

I recently took a one day getaway to St. Augustine. I decided to visit the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum in the afternoon and then go to the Corazon Cinema and Cafe for dinner and a movie.

St. Augustine Lighthouse.

The St. Augustine Lighthouse.

Lighthouse stairwell.

Stairwell of the lighthouse.

Kids playground

Kids can pretend they are pirates at this playground.

I arrive at The St. Augustine Lighthouse, I paid my admission and picked up a Visitors Map with a self guided tour. I walked through the Maritime Hammock and by the children’s playground. None of the other lighthouses I had visited before were so family friendly.

In the Keepers’ House there is a museum. It had a living room, time line, displays and lots of area history. After visiting the museum, I decided to climb the lighthouse. I entered the Lighthouse Oil Room where the lighthouse’s supply of lard oil was once stored. A sign challenged me to imagine Lightkeepers climbing the stairs while “toting the oil.” I visited the Lightkeepers Office and Workroom. This Lighthouse visit gave me insight into the lives of Lightkeepers and their families.

Toting the oil.

Toting the oil.

I arrived early at the Corazon to take advantage of the free parking. I paid for the movie and then walked to nearby sites. The Corazon is near the historic Alcazar Hotel and Flagler College.

After a short stroll, it was time for the movie. I had tried for months to see the movie “Mr. Turner” about one of my favorite artists JMW Turner. I was excited it was playing at the Corazon. With a sandwich and popcorn in hand, I was eager to see the movie.

The Corazon Cinema and Cafe.

The Corazon Cinema and Cafe.

The Corazon is located at 36 Granada Street. For more information , call 904-679-5736 or visit http://www.corazoncinemaanscafe.com

Leave a Reply

