A Ton of Fun

A day at South Beach.

Trash in the ocean kills more than one million seabirds and 100,000 marine mammals and turtles each year through ingestion and entanglement.

Disney’s new movie “Tomorrowland” promises to be a futuristic look ahead. Disney Pixar’s “Wall-e” was a thought-provoking look at the future. It is a satirical and witty look at human indulgence and waste. Two visions of the future.  Yet, I think “Wall-e” is closer to the truth.

When I lived at South Beach,  I saw the impact of human waste and the total disregard for the ocean and wildlife. People would leave dirty diapers, foam plates plastic bags, plastic bottles and all sorts of trash at the beach. Trash in the ocean kills more than one million seabirds and 100,000 marine mammals and turtles each year through ingestion and entanglement, according to Sciencedaily.com. Each year, tons of trash are removed by volunteers during coastal clean up days.

When I did my research for my Arts and Literacy class, I was reminded that plastic bottles take over 200 years to decompose and plastic grocery bags take over 20 years.

When I told my seven-year old grandson that plastic bottles take over 200 years to return to the earth, he replied “Wow! That bottle is going to be around a lot longer than you!”  “Wall-e” coming to a beach near you.

Leave a Reply

