SHUTTERED CHURCHES BECOME SHELTERS

IMG_3043

A King without a Home—I gasped when I read an article that referred to Jesus as a homeless man. But then I remembered that the King of Kings said “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” (Matt. 8:20).

Jesus surely identifies with and sympathizes with the homeless. It seems the Catholic Church does too.

I just read an article in the New York Times about the New York Diocese shuttering one third of its churches and planning to convert them into public housing.

Cardinal Timothy Dolan said when he stands before the judge, Jesus will not ask: “Are you a cardinal? Did you balance the budget?” Instead Jesus will ask: “When I was hungry, did you feed me? When I was homeless, did you give me a place to stay?”

According to the NYC Department of Housing and Preservation and Development, “the city has a long and productive history in partnering with the Catholic Church on affordable housing projects.”

Leave a Reply

