MATH AND ART

Painting in perspective

I used perspective in my painting “Lessons from a Plant.”

Artists Georges Seurat and Josef Albers used math to reach new heights of artistic creativity. They harnessed the left sides of their brains to power their creativity.

Until a little while ago I was uncomfortable with the left side of my brain. To me it represented something that would hinder my creativity. But as I began doing cityscapes, I realized how my left brain was enhancing my abilities as an artist. It helped me to analyze and compare— two important skills that successful artists implore. I began seeing my left brain as an asset.  Liabilities and assets. Plus and minuses. These are everyday analytical terms that I had once shunned.

“The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!”

And I cannot say to the left brain I don’t need you! Biblical wisdom for art.

Leave a Reply

