THE ART OF TENACITY

My rendition of Monet's Water lilies.

My rendition of Monet’s Water Lilies.

I went to a Curator’s Conversation at the Norton Museum of Art located in West Palm Beach. It was part of the “Art After Dark” series held on Thursdays from 5-9 pm.

I thought I had enough of Monet having recently visited Monet’s Gardens in Giverny, Musée Marmottan Monet and Musée de l’Orangerie in Paris. Musée Marmottan Monet holds the world’s largest collections of Monet. Musée de l’Orangerie is home to Monet’s paintings “Water Lilies.” The vestibule was designed by Monet.

It was with much hesitation that I headed to the talk “Claude Monet’s Gardens and Cityscapes” led by Glenn Tomlinson. When I arrived at the theater where the talks were held, I was told I needed a ticket for entry. I was also told that there were no more tickets. I breathed a sigh of relief.

However, the staff walked around the room and found three empty seats. I was the third person in line. As the talk began, I shed my skepticism due to the Curator’s enthusiasm and insight. He talked about Monet’s self-imposed exile in London and the European wars that he lived through. His talk gave me a deeper appreciation of the artist’s tenacity.

In his younger years, Monet fled the Prussian Franco war. Yet as he neared the end of his life, Monet painted serene water lilies in Giverny with enemy troops inside his beloved France.

Leave a Reply

