THE PROBLEM ISN’T ART

My painting "Honfleur."

My painting “Honfleur.”

I took my seven-year old grandson to the reception for “Art Refreshes the Soul.” I believe “every child is an artist” so I invited him to look at the art and tell me a story about the paintings we saw. At first he was reluctant. I continued to prompt him until he felt comfortable expressing his ideas. Engaging the viewer is the pursuit of almost every artist. I desire to inspire passion, idealism, thought, conversation, etc. Art is not passive. It is not a monologue. It’s a conversation. As we looked at the second painting my grandson took the lead. He excitedly told me the story of two babies taking over a city.

As Pablo Picasso put it, “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.”

People engaging with art.

People engaging with art.

 

Leave a Reply

