A BRUISED REED

A quiet moment at Fort Myers Beach during an artist retreat last year.

A quiet moment at Fort Myers Beach during an artist retreat last year.

“All of us are as bruised reeds, bruised by the cruelty of life and the inhumanity of others; but Jesus heals, restores, and does not condemn us in our weakness. When we are as a smoldering wick, giving off more smoke than light; He does not extinguish us, but refreshes us, giving strength for the journey.” I read this on Yahoo answers.

It reminded me of what the Minister said last week about Psalm 23. God removes, restores, replenishes, and redirects our paths.

I go on artist retreats for that reason. When I allow God to “lead me beside quiet waters” on a daily basis, I realize I can be refreshed each day.

It is difficult when my mind is always racing. It’s something I can’t do in my own strength. That’s why the psalmist says: He leads me…

Leave a Reply

