SEARCHING FOR JESUS

Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Fort Myers Beach, Florida

We all want to take the easiest and quickest route. I got on MapQuest to search for the quickest route to Fort Myers Beach. I save a step and a dime searching Kayak.  We are accustomed to using short cuts. We sometimes use short cuts when searching for God.

I was thinking of the wise men and wondering why they went to Jerusalem when God had revealed to them the Messianic star.

“Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship him?” the wise men asked King Herod. Perhaps they were following protocol or looking for a short cut. The wise men certainly thought the ruler would be able to help them. With their heads in the sky, they left Jerusalem following the same star that had lead them before they met King Herod! What a waste of time.

Their trip to Herod only aroused his suspicions. They became his enemy when he realized they were not returning with the requested information.

Short cuts don’t always work out and can be to our detriment. I surfed the TV channels in vain looking for any sign of Jesus in the midst of Christmas movies. I found instead Kohl’s ads and The Polar Express movie. Although I say I hate wasting time, I wasted a few hours watching a movie. Still no Jesus!

So I picked up my bible and found the baby in the manger in Luke 2. We look for Jesus in all the wrong places. Even when we get off track, God is waiting to guide us as He did the wise men.

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Leave a Reply

