TIME FOR ART

Nighthawks by Edward Hopper. The Art Institute of Chicago.

Nighthawks by Edward Hopper. The Art Institute of Chicago. My daughter’s favorite painting during our visit.

One hour.

That’s the most time I’ve ever spent with my 20 something daughter in a museum. Having just visited Paris a few months ago, I was content to spend one hour at The Art Institute of Chicago. I even decided that I could forego a visit to the museum.

Still, my daughter insisted that we go. So I looked at the museum’s website and reviewed the collection. I perused the various themes suggested. I discussed the themes with my daughter and let her decide on the themes for our visit.

To my surprise, we stayed almost 3 hours. What was the difference? I educated her before the visit and allowed her to decide what we would see. I put no pressure on her. Duh? What was I thinking all this time?

Leave a Reply

