I LIKE THE WAY YOU MOVE

splash-and-color.jpg small

My coloring book. “Splash and Color,” was lifeless and without movement until my grandson breathed his child like wonder into it. I liken the experience to the one depicted in Michelangelo’s “Creation of Adam.” God reached out to man and with His touch man became a living soul.

miami beach post office drawung

My coloring book illustration of the Miami Beach Post Office. This building was constructed under the FDR’s WPA.

Miami Beach Post Office

Photograph of the Miami Beach Post Office.

Through my 5 year old grandson’s eyes and heart, I began to see beyond the buildings. I began to notice the life rhythms of the South Beach Historic Art Deco District and to see its soul. I watched the residents of today and wondered about the residents of the past.

Since then I have learned a little about the artists, architects and everyday people of the era. And so it was because of my grandson’s counsel, my coloring book became what it is. A coloring book with a soul.

I wrote this dedication poem to my grandson in my coloring book, “Splash and Color.”

Splash and Color

A splash of color
A dash of fun.
People and dogs on the run.
Bikes to ride
Scooters to thrill.
Pirates on land,
Pirates on wheels.
Skaters zooming by.
Parasails in the sky.
A beach to swim in
Or just to float.
And those funny buildings
That look like boats.

Leave a Reply

